

## **RESOLUTION 14-32**

DATE: March 27, 2014

MOVED BY: Lou Addison

SECONDED BY: André Byham

WHEREAS the Ministry of Education continues to build on the <u>Ontario Early Years Policy</u> <u>Framework</u> with the intent to fulfill the vision for the integration of family support programs into Best Start Child and Family Centres; and

WHEREAS the current administration and funding allocation for Ontario Early Years Centres was established based on provincial ridings rather than CMSM/DSSAB's jurisdictions; and

WHEREAS cost-sharing inconsistencies exist because the Province and CMSM/DSSAB's fund Family Resource Centres at an 80/20 cost share while the province directly funds Transfer Payment Agencies at 100% to operate Ontario Early Years Centres; and

WHEREAS the Ministry of Education needs to recognize DSSAB's as the lead municipal partners for the service system management of OEYCs and Best Start Child and Family Centres; and

WHEREAS the DSB Program Planning Committee has reviewed the Ontario Early Years Centre - Issue Report and is recommending approval of this report to the Board.

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED THAT Ontario Early Years Centres should be realigned according to CMSM/DSSAB jurisdictions and the contract management for OEYCs should be transferred to CMSM/DSSAB's, including Data Analysis Coordinators and Early Literacy Programs; and

FURTHER BE IT RESOLVED THAT the province needs to address the funding inconsistences between Family Resource Programs and Ontario Early Years Centres once they are transformed into Best Start Child and Family Centres; and

FURTHER BE IT RESOLVED THAT the Manitoulin-Sudbury DSB Board approves the <u>Ontario Early Years Centre - Issue Report</u> and directs staff to action the recommendations contained within the report.

Carried

Serle South

MEMBER	YEAS	NAYS	MEMBER	YEAS	NAYS
				1.1	
ADDISON, LOU			LEONARD, DAVID		
BYHAM, ANDRE			McMILLAN, JACK		
PITFIELD, MORGAN			MARTIN-CROSS, SHAWNDA		
GAMBLE, LESLIE			MOFFATT, PAUL		
GOLDEN, DENNIS			LOVELACE, EDGAR		
KILLAH, BRUCE			STEPHENS, DEREK		
LEHOUX, MIKE			TURCOT, DENIS		