Manitoulin-Sudbury District Services Board POLICY & PROCEDURES MANUAL		
Section: B. General Administration	Effective Date: July 1, 2010	
Topic: 2. Governance		
Subject: 2.08. Process for Selection of		
Representatives from the Areas		
Policy No. B.2.08.	Page 1 of 3	

POLICY

The District Social Services Administration Board (DSSAB) Act and regulations stipulate the specific municipalities in each Area and the number of representatives from each Area.

See:

http://www.msdsb.net/ADMIN/docs/3rdParty/dssab.PDF?search=browseStatutes &context=

The regulations are very specific in defining the geographic Areas from which representation will come. The Act and the regulations are silent as to how members are to be selected within an Area. There are no legislative restrictions on how this can be accomplished other than the member finally selected must meet the Board member base requirements set out in the DSSAB Act.

See:

http://www.e-laws.gov.on.ca/html/statutes/english/elaws_statutes_90d15_e.htm

The selection process to select a representative(s) varies among DSSABs and often within single DSSABs. In some cases, there are simple rotations of members while in others there are formal election processes. However, the general procedure is that if the municipalities in an Area cannot decide among themselves on a selection method, the fallback position is to assemble representatives from the municipalities involved to have an Area election.

The following chart reflects the method of selection by Area as of 2009.

Manitoulin-Sudbury District Services Board POLICY & PROCEDURES MANUAL		
Section: B. General Administration	Effective Date: July 1, 2010	
Topic: 2. Governance		
Subject: 2.08. Process for Selection of		
Representatives from the Areas		
Policy No. B.2.08.	Page 2 of 3	

AREA as set out in District Social Services Administration Boards Act/ Regulations	Selection method as of 2009
Area #1 Town of Espanola	2 elected members appointed by Mayor and Council
Area#2 Township of Baldwin Township of Nairn and Hyman Township of Sables-Spanish Rivers	Each Mayor/Reeve discusses the need for representation on the Board with their council. If the Mayor/Reeve or a member of council is interested in serving on the Board a resolution is passed. That resolution is then is circulated to the other two municipalities in the Area. If the majority agrees on the two representatives then the DSB is advised. If more than two nominations are put forward, a vote is taken by each municipal council and the majority dictates the two appointments.
Area #3 Municipality of French River Municipality of Killarney Municipality of Markstay- Warren Municipality of StCharles	3 elected members Each municipality appoints one representative by their respective Mayors and Councils. The four-year term representation is on a yearly rotation as follows: 1st year: French River, Killarney, Markstay-Warren 2nd year: Killarney, Markstay-Warren, St. Charles 3rd year: Markstay-Warren, St. Charles French River 4th year: St. Charles, French River, Killarney
Area #4 Township of Chapleau	1 elected member appointed by Mayor and council

Manitoulin-Sudbury District Services Board POLICY & PROCEDURES MANUAL		
Section: B. General Administration	Effective Date: July 1, 2010	
Topic: 2. Governance		
Subject: 2.08. Process for Selection of		
Representatives from the Areas		
Policy No. B.2.08.	Page 3 of 3	

Area # 5 Township of Billings Township of Burpee and Mills Township of Cockburn Island Municipality of Gordon/Barrie Island Town of Gore Bay	Each municipality is given an opportunity to put a nomination forward. If more than one nomination is put forward, a vote is taken by each municipal council and the majority dictates the appointment.
Area #6 Township of Assiginack Township of Central Manitoulin Town of Northeastern Manitoulin and the Islands Township of Tehkummah	Tehkummah and Central Manitoulin each take turns. During this 4 year turn of council Tehkummah appointed a member. After the next municipal election in 2010 Central Manitoulin will then appoint a member to serve for the next four years. Assiginack and Northeastern Manitoulin and the Islands (NEMI) follow the same procedure. During this 4 year turn of council NEMI appointed a member. After the next municipal election in 2010 Assiginack will then appoint a member to serve for the next four years.
Area #7 Unincorporated Townships	3 members elected through the TWOMO elections process See http://www.msdsb.net/index.php/ql-board/2014-twomo- elections