Ministry of Long-Term Care

Ministère des Soins de longue durée

Office of the Minister

400 University Avenue, 6th Floor Toronto, ON M7A 1N3 Bureau du ministre

400, avenue Universitaire, 6e étage Toronto ON M7A 2J5



179-2021-102

February 17, 2021

Mr. Fern Dominelli
Chief Administrative Officer
Manitoulin-Sudbury District Services Board
210 Mead Boulevard
Espanola ON P5E 1R9
fern.dominelli@msdsb.net

Dear Mr. Dominelli:

I am pleased to advise you that the Ministry of Long-Term Care ("the ministry") will provide the Manitoulin-Sudbury District Services Board up to \$3,250,000 in one-time funding for a four-year transfer payment agreement over the 2020-2024 funding years (up to \$250,000 in year 1; up to \$1,000,000 in year 2; up to \$1,000,000 in year 3; and up to \$1,000,000 in year 4) to support seniors who are on the provincial long-term care waitlist, or will soon be eligible for long-term care, by providing them with community paramedicine services in their own homes.

This funding will support the Manitoulin and District of Sudbury's community paramedicine program to provide eligible seniors with 24/7 access to community paramedicine services.

Additional details about the terms and conditions of this funding will be shared in future communications by Janet Hope, Assistant Deputy Minister of the Long-Term Care Policy Division, and Brian Pollard, Assistant Deputy Minister of the Long-Term Care Capital Development Division.

Thank you for your continued dedication and commitment to ensuring that seniors and others at risk remain stable in their own homes or in community-based settings for as long as possible.

Fern Dominelli

I look forward to working with you to provide innovative resident-centred care to support those on the long-term care waitlist as we continue to build a long-term care system that is safe and responsive to the needs of the people of Ontario, particularly during these unprecedented times.

Sincerely,

Dr. Merrilee Fullerton Minister of Long-Term Care

M Jelluton

Richard Steele, Deputy Minister, Ministry of Long-Term Care C: Janet Hope, Assistant Deputy Minister, Long-Term Care Policy Division Brian Pollard, Assistant Deputy Minister, Long-Term Care Capital Development Division

Chief Paul Myre, Manitoulin-Sudbury DSB Paramedic Services