

Administration

Office of the Regional Clerk
1815 Sir Isaac Brock Way, PO Box 1042, Thorold, ON L2V 4T7
Telephone: 905-685-4225 Toll-free: 1-800-263-7215 Fax: 905-687-4977
www.niagararegion.ca

September 1, 2020

Council Session CL 15-2020, August 13, 2020

The Honourable Doug Ford Premier of Ontario Legislative Building Queen's Park Toronto ON M7A 1A1

SENT ELECTRONICALLY

RE: Motion – Child Care

Minute Item 11.1 CL 15-2020, August 13, 2020

Regional Council, at its meeting held on August 13, 2020, passed the following resolution:

WHEREAS the Region of Niagara and Niagara's twelve local area municipalities jointly declared a state of emergency on April 3, 2020 to protect the health of our communities;

WHEREAS the COVID-19 pandemic has taken a destructive toll on Niagara's economy, resulting in business closures, job loses or a reduction of wages for Niagara residents and families;

WHEREAS women have been disproportionately impacted by these economic impacts, or have had to leave the labour market altogether in order to provide child care or home-schooling;

WHEREAS the provision of child care benefits employers, is proven to support economic recovery, but also leads to greater workforce participation by women and supports their return to the workforce;

WHEREAS the economic recovery of the Niagara Region and Ontario is dependent on families having access to safe, reliable, and affordable child care that incorporates early learning principles; and

WHEREAS a 2012 study on the economic value of child care identified that every dollar invested in child care in Ontario has a direct regional economic output of \$2.27.

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED:

- 1. That the Niagara Region **REQUEST** that:
 - a. The Government of Ontario prioritize children and child care as part of our overall post-pandemic recovery plan;
 - b. The Government of Ontario develop, adequately fund and release publicly a comprehensive plan that can support families through the provision of licensed child care and early learning education; and
 - c. The Government of Ontario and the Government of Canada work collaboratively to develop a National Child Care Strategy to make child care an essential part of our public infrastructure that can support and expedite economic recovery; and
- 2. That this motion **BE CIRCULATED** to those upper and single tier municipalities who are designated by the province as municipal service managers for childcare and local area MPPs and MPs.

Yours truly,

Ann-Marie Norio Regional Clerk

CLK-C 2020-185

Distribution List:

The Right Honorable Justin Trudeau, Prime Minister of Canada Chris Bittle, MP - St. Catharines
Dean Allison, MP - Niagara West
Vance Badawey, MP - Niagara Centre
Tony Baldinelli, MP - Niagara Falls
Jennifer Stevens, MPP - St. Catharines
Jeff Burch, MPP - Niagara Centre
Wayne Gates, MPP - Niagara Falls
Sam Oosterhoff, MPP - Niagara West-Glanbrook
Clerk, City of Brantford
Clerk, City of Cornwall

Clerk, City of Greater Sudbury

Clerk, City of Hamilton

Clerk, City of Kawartha Lakes

Clerk, City of Kingston

Clerk, City of London

Clerk, City of Ottawa

Clerk, City of Peterborough

Clerk, City of St. Thomas

Clerk, City of Stratford

Clerk, City of Toronto

Clerk, City of Windsor

Clerk, Counties of Leeds & Grenville

Clerk, Counties of Prescott and Russell

Clerk, County of Bruce

Clerk, County of Dufferin

Clerk, County of Grey

Clerk, County of Hastings

Clerk, County of Huron

Clerk, County of Lambton

Clerk, County of Lanark

Clerk, County of Norfolk

Clerk, County of Northumberland

Clerk, County of Oxford

Clerk, County of Renfrew

Clerk, County of Simcoe

Clerk, County of Wellington

Algoma District Services Administration Board

Cochrane District Social Services Administration Board

Kenora District Services Board

Manitoulin-Sudbury District Services Board

Clerk, District of Muskoka

District of Nipissing Social Services Administration Board

District of Parry Sound Social Services Administration Board

Rainy River District Social Services Administration Board

District of Sault Ste. Marie Social Services Administration Board

Thunder Bay District Social Services Administration Board

District of Timiskaming Social Services Administration Board

Clerk, Municipality of Chatham-Kent

Prince Edward-Lennox and Addington Social Services

Clerk, Regional Municipality of Durham

Clerk, Regional Municipality of Halton

Clerk, Regional Municipality of Peel

Clerk, Regional Municipality of Waterloo

Clerk, Regional Municipality of York