Ministry of Education

900 Bay Street 24th Floor, Mowat Block Queen's Park Toronto ON M7A 1L2

Ministère de l'Éducation

900, rue Bay 24° étage, édifice Mowat Queen's Park Toronto ON M7A 1L2



MEMORANDUM TO: Chief Administrative Officers, CMSMs/DSSABs

General Managers/Commissioners, CMSMs/DSSABs Children's Service Managers, CMSMs/DSSABs

FROM: Julia Danos

Director, Early Years Implementation Branch

Early Years Division Ministry of Education

Med Ahmadoun

Director, Financial Analysis and Accountability Branch

Financial Policy & Business Division

Ministry of Education

DATE: April 11, 2016

SUBJECT: Data Analysis Coordinator (DAC) Funding Transfer

On February 19, 2016, the Minister of Education announced the provincial plan to integrate and transform all EDU-funded child and family programs into a system of services and supports for children ages 0-6 and their families known as Ontario Early Years Child and Family Centres (OEYCFCs).

Beginning in 2018, Consolidated Municipal Service Managers (CMSMs) and District Social Services Administration Boards (DSSABs) will be responsible for the implementation and management of OEYCFCs. This transformation will help us achieve our goal of establishing increasingly integrated early years programs and services in Ontario. We will continue to share information about system transformation as it becomes available.

The Ministry currently provides approximately \$3.4M to non-profit agencies and some CMSMs/DSSABs for Data Analysis Coordinator (DAC) services. DACs are community-based research analysts responsible for data gathering, analysis, and reporting to support research, evaluation, and planning efforts in Ontario's early years sector. DACs, and DAC funding, have historically been linked to Ministry-funded child and family programs.

As stated in the February 2016 OEYCFC memo, funding for DACs will be transferred to CMSMs/DSSABs. To inform service system planning and support municipal service

system managers in your role, DAC funding and responsibilities will be transferred to CMSMs/DSSABs beginning in January 2017. The timing of this transfer is intended to provide support for initial planning efforts, in advance of OEYCFC implementation in 2018. DAC funding provided to DAC host agencies will come to an end as of December 31, 2016.

Beginning in January 2017, the Ministry will increase total funding for DAC services to approximately \$4.2M to further support service system planning for CMSMs/DSSABs. CMSMs/DSSABs will continue to receive this funding as a portion of their future OEYCFC allocations on a go-forward basis.

A transitional funding approach will be in place for the 2017 calendar year to distribute DAC funding to CMSMs/DSSABs while the Ministry works with key partners to develop a long-term funding framework for OEYCFCs. Transitional allocations for 2017 have been determined based on child population data as well as a base minimum funding level for all CMSMs/DSSABs. Please refer to the attached Appendix for specific CMSM/DSSAB allocations.

To support a smooth transition process, the ministry expects that CMSMs/DSSABs will work with affected agencies that are currently responsible for the delivery of DAC services. We recognize that this transition will require careful planning and consideration for those affected by this decision. Your regional Child Care Advisor and Education Officer are available to support your organization and facilitate communications with you and your local TPAs. The ministry values the positive impact that DAC services have had on children and families in communities across the province.

We encourage you to follow up with your local Child Care Advisor or Education Officer if would like to discuss this memo further. We look forward to our continued collaboration in supporting children and their families in the coming years.

Sincerely,	
Original signed by:	
Julia Danos	Med Ahmadoun
Director	Director
Early Years Implementation Branch	Financial Analysis & Accountability
Early Years Division	Branch
•	Financial Policy & Rusiness Division

cc: Education Officers, Early Years Implementation Branch, Early Years Division, Ministry of Education

Child Care Advisors, Early Years Implementation Branch, Early Years Division, Ministry of Education

Financial Analysts, Financial Analysis & Accountability Branch, Financial Policy & Business Division, Ministry of Education

Appendix: 2017 Transitional DAC Funding Allocations

Beginning in 2017, EDU will distribute a total of approximately \$4.2M among CMSMs and DSSABs to support early years service system planning. To determine specific allocations, the Ministry has grouped CMSMs/DSSABs by total child population and assigned an allocation to each of these groupings, as follows:

Allocations by Child Population Groupings

Child Population Range	Group	Allocation
0 - 50,000	1	\$73,153
50,001 - 100,000	2	109,729
100,001 - 200,000	3	146,306
200,001 +	4	219,458

CMSMs and DSSABs by Child Population Grouping

Group 1: City of Brantford

City of Cornwall

City of Greater Sudbury

City of Kawartha Lakes

City of Kingston

City of Peterborough

City of St. Thomas

City of Stratford

County of Bruce

County of Dufferin

County of Grey

County of Hastings

County of Huron

County of Lambton

County of Lanark

County of Lennox & Addington

County of Northumberland

County of Oxford

County of Renfrew

County of Wellington

District Municipality of Muskoka Municipality of Chatham-Kent

Norfolk County

United Counties of Leeds & Grenville

United Counties of Prescott & Russell

Algoma District Services Administration Board

District of Cochrane Social Service Administration Board

District of Nipissing Social Services Administration Board

District of Parry Sound Social Services Administration Board

District of Sault Ste Marie Social Services Administration Board

District of Timiskaming Social Services Administration Board

Kenora District Services Board

Manitoulin-Sudbury District Social Services Administration Board

Rainy River District Social Services Administration Board

Thunder Bay District Social Services Administration Board

Group 2: City of Hamilton

City of London

City of Windsor

County of Simcoe

Regional Municipality of Durham Regional Municipality of Halton

Regional Municipality of Niagara

Regional Municipality of Waterloo

Group 3: City of Ottawa

Regional Municipality of York

Group 4: City of Toronto

Regional Municipality of Peel