## Chair and committee members elected at District Services Board

ESPANOLA—The Manitoulin Sudbury District Services Board (DSB) elected its new chair, vice-chair and committee members for 2014 at the board's January 23 meeting in Espanola.

Les Gamble, mayor of the Township of Sables-Spanish, has been returned to the chair of DSB, while Area 7 TWMOU (Territory Without Municipal Organization (Unincorporated Townships) representative Bruce Killah will act as vice-chair. Former vice-chair Mike Lehoux, mayor of Espanola, was nominated for the position of vice-chair but was not present at the meeting to indicate if he would accept the nomination.

The DSB decided to only select members for those four boards which meet regularly: property, human resources, program planning and finance. The remaining committees would be elected as needed. As other committees tend to be relatively ad hoc, only coming into play under certain circumstances as needed, the board agreed to leave the strategic planning, French language and emergency planning committees vacant until required.

The 2014 property committee will consist of Lou Addison, Bruce Killah, David Leonard, Derek Stephens and Mike Lehoux with chair Les Gamble serving as ex officio on the committee.

The human resources committee will consist of Jack McMillan, Edgar Lovelace, Bruce Killah, André Byham and Derek Stephens, with Mr. Gamble ex officio.

The program planning committee will consist of Jack McMillan, Lou Addison, Dennis Golden, Shawnda Martin-Cross and David Leonard, with Mr. Gamble ex officio.

Finance committee members for 2014 are Shawnda Martin-Cross, Jack McMillan, Paul Moffatt, Denis Turcot, Derek Stephens and André Byham, with Mr. Gamble ex officio.

As has been the case in the past, DSB CEO Fern Dominelli was appointed the returning officer for the TWOMO regions for the 2014 municipal elections.

Michael Erskine