Manitoulin-Sudbury District Services Board

AREA as set out in District Social Services Administration Boards Act/ Regulations	POPULATION MPAC* - 2009	# Board Members as a % of 14 total
Area #1 Town of Espanola	4987 = (18.3%)	2 (14.3%)
Area #2 Township of Baldwin Township of Nairn and Hyman Township of Sables-Spanish Rivers Sub-total	561 432 2867 3860 = (14.2%)	2 (14.3%)
Area #3 Municipality of French River Municipality of Killarney Municipality of Markstay-Warren Municipality of StCharles Sub-total	2375 406 2624 1225 6630 = (24.3%)	3 (21.4%)
Area #4 Township of Chapleau	2329 (8.5%)	1 (7.1%)
Area # 5 Township of: - Billings - Burpee and Mills - Cockburn Island - Municipality of Gordon/Barrie Island - Town of Gore Bay Sub-total	488 306 3 464 782 2043 = (7.5%)	1 (7.1%)
Area #6 Township of: - Assiginack - Central Manitoulin - Northeastern Manitoulin & the Islands -Tehkummah Sub-total	825 1733 2229 339 5126 = (18.8%)	2 (14.3%)
Area #7 Unincorporated *estimate based on TWOMO election data TOTAL	2285 = (8.4%) 27260 (100%)	3 (21.4%) 14 (100%)

Note: The total number of Board members for each of the ten District Social Services Administration Boards (DSSABs) is set out in the District Social Services Administration Boards Act and Regulations. Any increase or decrease in the number of Board members or any change to the boundaries of an area requires a change in the provincial regulations. In the past, the province has clearly stated they would not consider a regulation change regarding this distribution unless there is a clear double majority support for the requested change. Double majority support means that a majority of the municipalities and the unincorporated representatives support the change and that those areas supporting the change also represent a majority of the electors in the DSB's geographic service jurisdiction.

Note: MPAC = Municipal Property Assessment Corporation