# CONSOLIDATED MUNICIPAL SERVICES MANAGERS AND AREAS SERVED

Consolidated Municipal Services Managers (CMSMs) in Southern Ontario provide a similar range of programs and services and also provide land ambulance and public health services with the approval of the Minister of Health.

The role of the delivery agent in the provision of social services has progressed over time. The Local Services Realignment announced by the government in January 1997, outlined new directions for the delivery of social assistance, child care and social housing. These changes have created the opportunity to implement a more integrated system of social and community health services under municipal leadership.

An integrated system is one in which policies; programs and services are coordinated and complementary and serve common goals that address the well being of individuals, families and communities.

Consolidation of municipal service management has resulted in the management of the delivery of social assistance, child care, and social housing by 36 municipalities in Southern Ontario and by 10 District Social Services Administration Boards as well as the Regional Municipality of Sudbury in Northern Ontario.

Authority to require consolidation of municipal service management is provided by the *Services Improvement Act* and the *Social Assistance Reform Act*.

In Northern Ontario, ten District Social Services Administration Boards (DSSABs) and the Regional Municipality of Sudbury were approved as CMSMs. DSSABs are responsible for serving both municipalities and territories without municipal organization.

The nine southern Ontario regional municipalities plus the City of Toronto are, by legislation, boards of health for their region, as well as CMSMs.

[Please refer to attached chart outlining Consolidated Municipal Service Managers - Ontario Works, Child Care and Social Housing -- area served in Southern and Northern Ontario]

### Consolidated Municipal Service Managers Ontario Works, Child Care and Social Housing

	Service Manager	Area Served
	SOUTHERN ONTARIO	
1.	Brantford C	Brant CO. Brantford C
2.	Bruce CO	Bruce CO
3.	Chatham-Kent M	Chatham-Kent M
4.	Cornwall C	Cornwall C. Stormont, Dundas & Glengarry
		CO
5.	Dufferin CO	Dufferin CO
6.	Durham RM	Durham RM
7.	Grey CO	Owen Sound C. Grey CO
8.	Haldimand-Norfold RM	Haldimand-Norfolk RM
9.	Halton RM	Halton RM
10.	Hamilton-Wentworth RM	Hamilton-Wentworth RM
11.	Hastings CO	Belleville C. Quinte West C. Hastings CO
12.	Huron CO	Huron CO
13.		Kingston C. Frontenac CO
	Lambton CO	Lambton Co
	Lanark CO	Smith Falls ST. Lanark CO
	Leeds & Grenville CO	Brockville C. Gananoque ST, Prescott ST,
		Leeds & Grenville CO
17.	Lennox & Addington CO	Lennox & Addington CO, Prince Edward CO
	London C	London C, Middlesex CO
19.	Muskoka DM	Muskoka DM
20.	Niarara RM	Niagara RM
21.		Northumberland CO
22.	Ottawa-Carlton RM	Ottawa-Carlton RM
23.		Oxford CO
24.		Peel RM
25.		Peterborough C, Peterborough CO
26.	•	Prescott & Russell CO
27.		Pembroke C, Renfrew CO
28.		Barrie C, Orillia C, Simcoe CO
29.		Stratford C, St. Mary's ST, Perth CO
30.		St. Thomas C. Elgin CO
	Toronto C	Toronto C
32.	Victoria CO	Haliburton CO, Victoria CO
33.	Waterloo RM	Waterloo Rm
34.	Wellington CO	Guelph C. Willington CO
35.	Windsor C	Windsor C, Essex CO
36.	York RM	York RM
37.	Algoma DSSAB	Algoma District, excluding Sault Ste Marie C,
	3	Prince TWP and Sault North Planning Board

38. Cochrane DSSAB Cochrane District

39. Kenora DSSAB Kenora District, excluding areas north of the

11<sup>th</sup> Baseline

40. Manitoulin-Sudbury DSSAB Manitoulin District, Sudbury District

41. Nipissing DSSAB
42. Parry Sound DSSAB
43. Rainy River DSSAB
44. Nipissing District
45. Parry Sound District
46. Parry Sound District
47. Parry Sound District
48. Rainy River District

44. Sault Ste Marie DSSAB Sault Ste Marie C. Prince TWP and Sault

North Planning Board

45. Sudbury RM Sudbury RM

46. Thunder Bay DSSAB Thunder Bay District47. Timiskaming DSSAB Timiskaming District

#### Codes

C - City CO - County

DSSAB - District Social Services Administration Board

M - Municipality

RM - Regional Municipality ST - Separated Town

## Designation Under Ontario Works Act, 1997 and Day Nurseries Act

Effective February 1, 1999

- Cochrane DSSAB
- Nipissing DSSAB
- Parry Sound DSSAB
- Timiskaming DSSAB
- Algoma DSSAB
- Sault Ste. Marie DSSAB
- Rainy River DSSAB

#### Effective April 1, 1999

- Kenora DSSAB
- Manitoulin-Sudbury DSSAB
- Thunder bay DSSAB

The Regional Municipality of Sudbury was also designated on April 1, 1999 and is responsible for the geographic area within the City of Greater Sudbury.